2018 Adelaide Film Festival Announces Dates!

Check out the presser!


10-21 OCTOBER 2018


The Adelaide Film Festival (ADL Film Fest) is now inviting Australian and international submissions for features, shorts and VR works – drama, documentary, hybrid, experimental and animation – for consideration for the 2018 ADL Film Fest program, to be presented October 10 – 21.

Festival Director Amanda Duthie and Programs Manager Mat Kesting are seeking bold and daring works to become a part of the festival’s distinctive curated program of Australian and international film culture with special events, awards, forums and screen celebrations. Previously a biennial event, 2018 marks the first full festival to be held in consecutive years, doubling the dose of screen culture and production that the festival celebrates, creates, and supports.

Celebrating 15 years in 2018, the ADL Film Fest has secured a reputation around the globe as an essential screen culture event. Named in Variety Film magazine’s 50 Unmissable Film Festival lists, the festival continues to be regarded as a premier destination for new and exciting screen projects.

The ADL Film Fest creates, presents and markets a challenging and inventive screening program relevant to both the general public and the industry. The event attracts a broad audience demographic that is rewarded with the best in screen culture and is introduced to innovative areas of screen practice. The ADL Film Fest takes place immediately after the Venice and Toronto Film Festivals, which signifies the beginning of the cinematic awards season.

ADL Film Fest is proud to recognise excellence in screen storytelling with three prestigious juried awards at each edition of the event: Best International Feature Film, Flinders University International Feature Documentary Award, the AFTRS Virtual Reality Award and the Audience Awards. The film awards boast a combined prize pool of $30,000 cash. Additional festival awards include The Don Dunstan Award, Audience Awards, the INSITE Award for screenwriting and more.

The ADL Film Fest was the first film festival in Australia to invest in new work, through the ADL Film Fest FUND. The FUND has developed into one of Australia’s most successful screen initiatives, resulting 86 projects to date, with works selected forCannes, Berlin, Venice and Sundance. ADL Film Fest Fund features include Warwick Thornton’s Sweet Country and Samson & Delilah, Rolf de Heer’s Charlie’s Country and Ten Canoes, Sophie Hyde’s 52 Tuesdays and Rosemary Meyer’s Girl Asleep,SnowtownTracksMrs Carey’s Concert and Look Both Ways. Additionally, ADL Film Fest Fund has fostered new VR works, including Lynette Wallworth’s Emmy Award winning Collisions and Trent Parke, Narelle Autio and Matthew Bate’s The Summation of Force.


The ADL Film Fest patrons are Margaret Pomeranz and David Stratton, who for 28 years entertained us on their weekly film review programs – The Movie Show and At The Movies.

The closing date for submissions is Thursday 31 May, 5pm. Discounted early bird submissions close 3 May. For more information and to enter visit https://adelaidefilmfestival.org/submissions/




We’re proud to say ADL Film Fest was the first Australian film festival to create a juried prize for best feature film. In selecting competition films, we search for diverse voices, bold storytelling, creative risk-taking and overall fabulous films. Previous competition winners:

I Am Not A Witch, dir. Rungano Nyoni (France / UK, 2017)

Neon Bull, dir: Gabriel Mascaro (Brazil, 2015)

Jîn, dir: Reha Erdem (Turkey, 2013)

Incendies, dir: Denis Villeneuve (Canada / France, 2009)

Treeless Mountain, dir: So-yong Kim (USA / South Korea, 2008)

Still Life, dir: Jia Zhangke (China, 2006)

In 2017, the International Feature Jury was: Marten Rabarts, Catherine Fitzgerald, Leena Alam, Joao Pedro Rodrigues and Miranda Dear.  Past juries have included Christian Jeune, Wayne Lewis, Maggie Lee, Sophie Hyde, Lawrence Weschler, Maryanne Redpath, Pierre Rissient, J.M. Coetzee, Noah Cowan, Naomi Kawase and Al Clark among other distinguished practitioners and professionals.


The Flinders University International Documentary Award celebrates distinctive factual filmmaking.

Previous winners:

2017 – Ziad Zalthoum for Taste of Cement (Syria, Qatar, Germany, Lebanon, UAE).

2015 – Amber Fares for Speed Sisters (USA/Palestine).

2013 – Jakeb Anhvu for Blush of Fruit (Australia / Vietnam).

Jurors have included Beck Cole, Joost Den Hartog, Michael Loebenstein, Kristy Matheson, Hania Mroue, Molly Reynolds, Jane Schoettle and Cherelle Zheng.


ADL Film Fest was the first Australian film festival to create a juried VR Award. The inaugural award was presented in 2017 to Michelle & Uri Kranot for Nothing Happens (Denmark, France).  The 2017 VR Jury was Rachel Landers, Mathew Tizard and Amanda Duthie.

Jury members for the 2018 will be announced closer to the Festival.