American Society of Cinematographers Announce Their Nominations!

And in a first ever a woman has been nominated! Yes, the ASCs nominations for 2017’s best cinematography in movies and television have been announced and Rachel Morrison becomes the first female cinematographer ever to be honoured for her STELLAR work on Mudbound.

In all truth, however, it should be Roger Deakins and his astounding work on Blade Runner 2049 that takes the gong for the theatrical release category.

Dunkirk, Darkest Hour and The Shape of Water round out the category with the Loveless, November, and On Body and Soul taking out the noms in the Spotlight category. That should go to Loveless.

Theatrical Release
Roger Deakins, “Blade Runner 2049”
Bruno Delbonnel, “Darkest Hour”
Hoyte van Hoytema, “Dunkirk”
Dan Laustsen, “The Shape of Water”
Rachel Morrison, “Mudbound”

Spotlight Award
Máté Herbai, “On Body and Soul”
Mikhail Krichman, “Loveless”
Mart Taniel, “November”

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television
Gonzalo Amat, “The Man in the High Castle” (“Land O’ Smiles)
Adriano Goldman, “The Crown” (“Smoke and Mirrors”)
Robert McLachlan, “Game of Thrones” (“The Spoils of War”)
Gregory Middleton, “Game of Thrones” (“Dragonstone”)
Alasdair Walker, “Outlander” (“The Battle Joined”)

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television
Dana Gonzales, “Legion” (“Chapter 1”)
David Greene, “12 Monkeys” (“Mother”)
Kurt Jones, “The Originals” (“Bag of Cobras”)
Boris Mojsovski, “12 Monkeys” (“Thief”)
Crescenzo Notarile, “Gotham” (“The Executioner”)

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television
Pepe Avila del Pino, “The Deuce” pilot
Serge Desrosiers, “Sometimes the Good Kill”
Mathias Herndl, “Genius” (“Chapter 1”)
Shelly Johnson, “Training Day” pilot (“Apocalypse Now”)
Christopher Probst, “Mindhunter” pilot