The 2018 Writers Guild of America Award Nominations Announced!

Switching our gaze to those who madly bash their keyboards, the Writers Guild of America have announced their nominations with The Big Sick, Get Out, I Tonya, Lady Bird, and The Shape of Water filling out the original screenplay motion picture category. Adapted nods went to Call Me By Your Name, The Disaster Artist, Logan, Molly’s Game, and Mudbound.

THE 2018 WGAs are announced on 10 FEBRUARY, 2018


“The Big Sick,” Written by Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani; Amazon Studios

“Get Out,” Written by Jordan Peele; Universal Pictures

“I, Tonya,” Written by Steven Rogers; Neon

“Lady Bird,” Written by Greta Gerwig; A24

“The Shape of Water,” Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor; Story by Guillermo del Toro; Fox Searchlight


“Call Me by Your Name,” Screenplay by James Ivory; Based on the Novel by André Aciman; Sony Pictures Classics

“The Disaster Artist,” Screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber; Based on the Book The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside the Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made by Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell; A24

“Logan,” Screenplay by Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green; Story by James Mangold; Based on Characters from the X-Men Comic Books and Theatrical Motion Pictures; Twentieth Century Fox Film

“Molly’s Game,” Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the Book by Molly Bloom; STX Entertainment

“Mudbound,” Screenplay by Virgil Williams and Dee Rees; Based on the Novel by Hillary Jordan; Netflix


“Betting on Zero,” Written by Theodore Braun; Gunpowder & Sky

“Jane,” Written by Brett Morgen; National Geographic

“No Stone Unturned,” Written by Alex Gibney; Abramorama

“Oklahoma City,” Written by Barak Goodman; American Experience Films