Los Angeles Film Critics Circle Awards Announced! Call Me By Your Name Best Film!

The LAFCC have announced their 2017 prizes with Luca Guadagnino’s critical hit Call Me By Your Name scooping another Best Film win. Sean Baker’s The Florida Project nabbed runner up in the category. Call Me By Your Name also took out Best Actor for Timothée Chalamet and tied Best Director for Luca Guadagnino.

The Shape of Water was the big winner taking out Best Director (tie) for Guillermo Del Toro, Best Actress for Sally Hawkins, Best Cinematography for Dan Laustsen and landed Runner Up in Best Score and Best Production Design.

Best Film: Call Me By Your Name
Runner-up: The Florida Project
Best Director: (TIE) Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water” and Luca Guadagnino, “Call Me by Your Name”
Best Actor: Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name”
Runner-up: James Franco, “The Disaster Artist”
Best Actress: Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water”
Runner-up: Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe, “The Florida Project”
Runner-up: Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”
Runner-up: Mary J. Blige, “Mudbound”
Best Foreign-Language Film: (TIE) “BPM (Beats Per Minute)” and “Loveless”
Best Documentary/Nonfiction Film: “Faces Places”
Runner-up: “Jane”
Best Animated Film: “The Breadwinner”
Runner-up: “Coco”
Best Screenplay: Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
Runner-up: Martin McDonagh, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Best Cinematography: Dan Laustsen, “The Shape of Water”
Runner-up: Roger Deakins, “Blade Runner 2049”
Best Editing: Lee Smith, “Dunkirk”
Runner-up: Tatiana S. Riegel, “I, Tonya”
Best Music/Score: Jonny Greenwood, “Phantom Thread”
Runner-up: Alexander Desplat, “The Shape of Water”
Best Production Design: Dennis Gassner, “Blade Runner 2049”
Runner-up: Paul D. Austerberry, “The Shape of Water”
Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award: Lee Anne Schmitt, “Purge This Land”