42nd Annual Los Angeles Film Critics Awards Announced! Moonlight Best Picture!

LAFCA handed down their awards for the 2016 season on Saturday night and it was Barry Jenkins’ Moonlight that came out the big winner scooping Best Picture, Best Director, Best Supporting Actor (Mahershala Ali) and Best Cinematography. Adam Driver picked up Best Actor for Paterson and Isabelle Huppert took out Best Actress for both Elle and Things to Come. Lily Gladstone won Best Supporting Actress for 20th Century Women. Best Screenplay went to The Lobster and Best Musical Score went to La La Land. I am Not Your Negro won Best Documentary, The Handmaiden won Best Foreign Language Film and Your Name took out Best Animated Film.

New Generation
Trey Edward Shults and Krisha Fairchild, Krisha

Best Foreign-Language Film
Winner: The Handmaiden
Runner-Up: Toni Erdmann

Best Picture
Winner: Moonlight
Runner-Up: La La Land

Best Director
Winner: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
Runner-Up: Damien Chazelle, La La Land

Best Actress
Winner: Isabelle Huppert, Elle and Things to Come
Runner-Up: Rebecca Hall, Christine

Best Actor
Winner: Adam Driver, Paterson
Runner-Up: Casey Affleck, Manchester By The Sea

Best Animated Film
Winner: Your Name
Runner-Up: The Red Turtle

Best Screenplay
Winner: Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster
Runner-Up: Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester By The Sea

The Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Prize
Winner: The Illinois Parables

Winner: I Am Not Your Negro
Runner-up: OJ: Made In America

Supporting Actress
Winner: Lily Gladstone, Certain Women
Runner-up: Michelle Williams, Manchester By The Sea

Winner: Bret Granato, Maya Mumma, Ben Sozanski, OJ: Made In America
Runner-up: Tom Cross, La La Land

Production Design
Winner: Ryu Seong-hee, The Handmaiden
Runner-up: David Wasco, La La Land

Supporting Actor
Winner: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
Runner-up: Issey Ogata, Silence

Winner: Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, La La Land
Runner-up: Mica Levi, Jackie

Winner: James Laxton, Moonlight
Runner-up: Linus Sandgren, La La Land