2016 IDA Documentary Award Nominations Announced

OJ Made In AmericaThe 32nd annual International Documentary Association (IDA) Documentary Award nominations have been announced and as we already know it’s going to be one hotly contested category this year in all awards ceremonies. This year has been very focused on racism, politics and refugees. Hot favourites 13th, I Am Not Your Negro and O.J.: Made in America (which is my hot tip to win the Oscar in 2017) make the Best Feature list alongside the stunning Italian film Fire at Sea, the spectacular Weiner and Cameraperson.



Career Achievement Award
Stanley Nelson

Pioneer Award
Ally Derks

Amicus Award
Norman and Lyn Lear

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award sponsored by the Archibald Family Foundation
Nanfu Wang

Best Feature Award

Director & Producer: Ava DuVernay Producers: Spencer Averick and Howard Barish Netflix

Director and Producer: Kirsten Johnson Producer: Marilyn Ness
Janus Films

Fire at Sea
Director: Gianfranco Rosi
Producers: Paolo Del Brocco, Roberto Ciccutto, Camille Laemle, Serge Lalou, Donatella Palermo, Olivier Pere, Gianfranco Rosi, and Martine Saada
Kino Lorber

I Am Not Your Negro
Director and Producer: Raoul Peck Producers: Remi Grellety and Hébert Peck Magnolia Pictures

OJ: Made in America
Director: Ezra Edelman
Producers: Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Nina Krstic, Erin Leyden, Tamara Rosenberg, Connor Schell, and Caroline Waterlow

Directors: Josh Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg Sundance Selects, Showtime Documentary Film

Best Short Award

The Above
Director: Kirsten Johnson Producer: Marilyn Ness Field of Vision

Clinica De Migrantes : Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness
Director: Maxim Pozdorovkin
Producer: Jenny Lim

Director and Producer: Dan Krauss f/8 Filmworks Ltd, Netflix

Director and Producer: Amy Nicholson Myrtle & Olive, Oscilloscope

Red Lake
Director: Billy Luther
Producers: Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato World of Wonder Productions

The White Helmets
Director: Orlando von Einsiedel Producer: Joanna Natasegara Netflix

Pare Lorentz Award

Starless Dreams
Director: Mehrdad Oskouei The Cinema Guild

Creative Recognition Award Winners

Best Cinematography
Fire at Sea
Cinematography by: Gianfranco Rosi Kino Lorber

Best Editing
Edited by: Nels Bangerter Janus Films

Best Writing
I Am Not Your Negro
Written by: James Baldwin and Raoul Peck Magnolia Pictures

Best Music
The Bad Kids
Original Score by: Jacaszek FilmRise, ITVS

ABC News VideoSource Award

Director: Ava DuVernay Netflix

I Am Not Your Negro
Director: Raoul Peck Magnolia Pictures

The Lovers and the Despot
Director: Ross Adam and Robert Cannan Magnolia Pictures

Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise
Directors: Bob Hercules and Rita Coburn Whack
PBS, American Masters

Norman Lear: Just Another Version of You
Directors: Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady
Loki Films, Thirteen/WNET, Music Box Films, PBS, American masters

Best Curated Series Award

BBC Storyville
Executive Producer: Nick Fraser BBC TV

DR2 Dokumania
Executive Producer: Mette Hoffmann Meyer DR TV

Independent Lens
Executive Producers: Sally Jo Fifer and Lois Vossen ITVS, PBS

Pacific Heartbeat
Executive Producers: Leanne Ferrer and Leslie Wilcox American Public Television

Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White POV, PBS

Best Limited Series Award

Executive Producers: Sheri Salata, David Shadrack Smith, Jonathan Sinclair and Oprah Winfrey OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network

Executive Producers: Alex Gibney, Caroline Suh, Michael Pollan and Stacey Offman Netflix

The Circus: Inside the Greatest Political Show on Earth
Executive Producers: Scott Boggins, Ken Druckerman, Mark Halperin, John Heilemann, Mark McKinnon and Banks Tarver
Co-Executive Producers: Ted Bourne and Mary Robertson Showtime

Making a Murderer
Executive Producers: Laura Ricciardi and Moira Demos Netflix

Streets of Compton
Executive Producers: Alan Grunblatt, Brad Abramson, Cash “Wack 100” Jones, Elaine Frontain Bryant, The Game, John Morayniss, Kevin Lopez, Mark Ford, Shelly Tatro and Tara Long
Entertainment One Reality Productions, Creature Films for A&E

Best Episodic Series Award

Chef’s Table
Executive Producers: David Gelb, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard, Brian McGinn and Matthew Weaver Netflix

The First 48
Executive Producers: John X. Kim, Alexis Robie, Peter Tarshis, Laura Fleury and Elaine Frontain Bryant
Co-Executive Producers: Joey Grossfield and Maija Norris A&E

Last Chance U
Executive Producers: Greg Whiteley and Joe LaBracio

United Shades of America
Executive Producers: Eli Holzman, Jimmy Fox, Layla Smith, Star Price, Stephen Lambert and W. Kamau Bell
All3Media America, CNN Original Series, Objective Productions USA

Woman with Gloria Steinem
Executive Producers: Spike Jonze, Nomi Ernst Leidner, Eddy Moretti, Amy Richards, Shane Smith, Gloria Steinem and Ariel Wengroff
VICE Media for Viceland

Best Short Form Series Award

30:30 Shorts
Executive Producers: John Dahl, Libby Geist and Connor Schell ESPN

Children Deported
Executive Producer: Christer Fasmer VGTV

Field of Vision
Executive Producers: Charlotte Cook, Laura Poitras and AJ Schnack Field of Vision

Executive Producers: Lisa Leingang, Adam Pincus and AJ Schnack

The New York Times Op-Docs
Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo The New York Times

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

4.1 Miles
Director: Daphne Matziaraki
UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

The Earth Did Not Speak
Director and Producer: Javier Briones San Francisco State University

How History May Come
Director: Olesya Mazur Sydney Film School

My Life As a Film- How My Father Tried to Capture Happiness
Director: Eva Vitija
Producers: Daniel Howald and Anita Wasser Zurich University of the Arts

Transit Zone
Director: Frederik Subei Edinburgh College of Art