The 2012 FCCA Awards Announced!

The Film Critics Circle Of Australia Awards were announced on Tuesday night and the fact that a) I didn’t know about it and b) since when was there a Film Critics Circle Of Australia? tells you that it needs work.

Here’s their list of winners!

Best Film

Burning Man                                  Producers: Jonathan Teplitzky, Andy Paterson

Eye of the Storm, The                    Producers: Gregory J. Read, Antony Waddington, Fred Schepisi

Hunter, The                                     Producer: Vincent Sheehan

Oranges and Sunshine                 Producers: Camilla Bray, Emile Sherman, Iain Canning

Snowtown                                        Producers:  Anna McLeish, Sarah Shaw


Best Director

Justin Kurzel                           Snowtown

Daniel Nettheim                          Hunter,The

Fred Schepisi                                Eye of the Storm, The

Kriv Stenders                                 Red Dog

JonathanTeplitzky                      Burning Man

Best Actress – Leading Role

Emily Browning                          Sleeping Beauty

Judy Davis                                    Eye of the Storm, The

Bojana Novakovic                       Burning Man

Emily Watson                          Oranges and Sunshine

Best Actor – Leading Role

Matthew Goode                         Burning Man

Daniel Henshall                    Snowtown

Geoffrey Rush                             Eye of the Storm, The

David Wenham                          Oranges and Sunshine

Best Actress – Supporting Role

Essie Davis                               Burning Man

Louise Harris                            Snowtown

Frances O’Connor              Hunter, The

Alexandra Schepisi            Eye of the Storm, The


Best Actor – Supporting Role

John Gaden                              Eye of the Storm, The

Sam Neill                                  Hunter, The

Hugo Weaving                     Oranges and Sunshine


Best Performance by a Young Actor

Daniel Connors                      Toomelah

Morgana Davies                         Hunter,The

Jack Heanly                                 Burning Man

Finn Woodlock                            Hunter,The


Best Screenplay

Shaun Grant                             Snowtown

Judy Morris                          Eye of the Storm, The

Jonathan Teplitzky                     Burning Man

Best Cinematography

Adam Arkapaw                         Snowtown

Robert Humphreys            Hunter, The

Garry Phillips                             Burning Man

Best Music Score

Lisa Gerrard                      Burning Man

Jed Kurzel                                Snowtown

Matteo Zingales, Michael Lita,

Andrew Lancaster                      Hunter,The

Cezary Skubiszewski                   Red Dog


Best Editor

Jill Bilcock                                Red Dog

Martin Connor                    Burning Man

Veronika Jenet                         Snowtown